Minimum charges

Ken692

Name
Kenny
Hi I'm new to the carpet world, we just got the dry tech system, my boss has started this $89 a room campaign, most due to Stanley steamer at $99 I get calls for one room and just seems to low to even do it, I really need help with pricing

Mikey P

Administrator
Hey Ken

You are correct, way too low, especially in an area like Boston

It does not take much to provide a better cleaning than Stanley does. If you just pre vacuum the carpet, pre spray the carpet and agitate in the solution some how, and use a lot of dry strokes you'll be out cleaning SS ten fold...

Is it your boss' desire to run a bunch of trucks and force his tech to up-sell like crazy ?

If so you'll never be happy there. Either find a quality conscience company to work for or consider starting your own.

Ken692

Name
Kenny
He really gave me half of the company, and I'm just getting up and running, so far I'm getting great feedback from the work I do, it's not easy but I'm getting used to it fast, just getting on here has got me some great ideas, the pricing is were I need to get better. I keep hearing it its $70 we will do it, I hold strong at $89 and tout the dry tech, I just feel like it's s lot of work have to travel and I have a helper

Mikey P

Administrator
Are you up selling on most jobs?

You'll soon see if you watch your numbers that even at $100 per hour, you'll need more to turn a decent profit. Especially with a helper

If you advertise with low rate coupons, you will catch the wrong customer.

I understand the being new, it's hard to find any clients, so low ball offers will get your phone to ring.

I'm not sure what the Dry Tech System is but why not try touting it's virtues more and maybe offering a buy three, get one free sort of deal $150ish. in other words so you don't go broke running all over MA clearing $ 10 to $15.00 after it's all said and done.

Reactions: Russ T.

Ken692

Name
Kenny