Average Prices

ChuckR

What are the average prices to charge for cleaning carpet,tile floors,stripping and waxing, things like that . Do you have a minimum charge? I am just getting into the business and still trying to figure all this out.

Dolly Llama

Number 5
Name
Larry Capitoni
I'm sure there will be some good businessmen along in a minute to tell you it doesn't matter what others are charging, what matters is that you know your cost of doing business (that includes your salary) then add to that what ever profit percentage you want to make, and that's how you arrive at what to charge.

But I suck suck as a businessman and will answer your question

"What are the average prices"

Guess that depends on where you live and what the "average" price in your neighborhood is.

For carpet, I suspect it's like most places and runs anywhere from .07sf to .50+ sf.
Or by the room, anywhere from $15 a rm to $100+ a rm.
most owner/op outfits are somewhere in the middle of those two figures.

Personally, I could never get what I wanted to make on strip & wax tile.
So we do very little of it and it's almost a lose leader for us so we can get the carpet cleaning

..L.T.A.

G

It depends on how hungry you are? If you have plenty of cash you can wait around for "that customer" and make $400 an hour. Very few of them around. You might have 1 to 10 of those kind of jobs a year, more if you're lucky.

If you're hungry...you'd probably clean a 2 or 3 rooms for $50 or $60 bucks.

On the boards the "rule of thumb" seems to be $100 per hour while the truck is running, provided that you're running a TM. Your best bet is to know what you have to make to earn a nice living and your cost of doing business. It's not so much what everyone else is charging, but what you need to charge.

From what I see, the SS, CD, SM's and other multi-truck operations of the world do well charging what they charge.