Google "Home Based Address" issue

Goomer

Name
Frank Mendo
Got a phone call today from Google Maps.
"Does your business service customers at that location"??
"No Sir, I am an Independent Contractor, and that is the legal address for my home based Corporation"

"..................ok...Perfect....Thank you very much......Click"

Hmmmm......somethings not right I think.......I check my listing later in the day and find the dreaded "We currently do not support this listing"

FOOOOOOOOOOOKKKKKKKK...........

In starting to look into the LATEST reasons for Google to throw this error, I keep seeing refeences to the fact that seems Google may be beginning to not allow businesses who do not service customers at their address, to show this address in their listing.
Listings found to be in violation of this (They now know this because you most likely just told them you do not service customers at the listed address), are booted because they are now in violation of their listing policy.

Because of the LAG in Google response time, and understaffed help department, this could be a big bump in the road for anyone relying on Google for a large part of their business.
Listings can disappear for moooooonths into the Google Black hole.

Anyone run into this yet??

FredC

Village Idiot
Yep....the rule is actually a couple months old.

I have a couple people going through the same thing now...............thought I warned everybody what to say..........guess not.
didn't automatically hide all the addresses because google seems to be doing it randomly...and businesses without the address look less legit imo.

If you get a call from the googleman
1. You better answer it
2. If you haven't hidden your address you better say YES customers drop off rugs here or similar.............

best at this point just to go ahead and hide it. Select "do not show my address on google maps" or whatever in your places account