Grout turned green?

hogjowl

Idiot™
No picture of the floor, sorry. However, it's a green tile floor. One of those floors that is so shiny that it almost looks like a mirror. The tile is two toned ... light and darn green, with a grout that is slightly darker than white. Tan colored.

Anyway, I cleaned it today and used an acid tile cleaner. I have never used an acid before. I always use Oxyblaster. For some reason, today I decided to use the acid cleaner I have had on my shelf for years. I have no idea why ... it was just THERE! Staring at me!

So, I mop it on the tile really hot ... like super hot ... right out of my #4 Little Giant heater. I let it dwell while I went and cleaned a couple of oriental rugs. When I got back to the floor, I rinsed it with my spinner tool and immediately noticed, before my very eyes, the grout turned green. Same color as the floor!

Did the darn tile color bleed onto the grout?

Blue Monarch

Supportive Member
Name
Dirk Wingrove
Oh man, I'd freak. Never heard of such a thing. Sure hope you don't have to do a free color seal. Uhg

Name
Brad Gouveia
Your best bet is to tell them it is suppose to be green and it was just too dirty to see it before.

Never heard of grout change color like this.

Jim Martin

Supportive Member
Name
Jim Martin
Don't know what color it was before you started....or what color it was supposed to be....

a few few things come to mind....it was really dirty and when you cleaned off the dirt the color came thru....
or it was colored sealed and that battery acid crap you put on the floor ate the color seal off....

Mikey P

Administrator
What did the customer say?

Here in California where people hire other people to chose their grout color for them, the chooser usually matches the color to the tile.

Is the green consistent?

Acid cleaners don't need heat. They do their job in cold water.

hogjowl

Idiot™
Jim Martin: Read the original thread, stooped!