Help me to be equipped for LOTS of upcoming tile please?!

Russ T.

Supportive Member
Name
Russ Terhaar
Hi guys,
Carpet cleaning is the thing I'm most comfortable with but as we are growing, I'm getting more and more commercial tile to deal with. Most of it is VCT but some grouted commercial stuff (see I'm not a tile expert).

I own a 175 (no tank) and a Cimex. I also have my Truckmount and spinner for tile and grout in resi situations. I own a (supposedly) commercial grade shop vac to retrieve the slurry but it's a piece of junk.

Monday night I'm scheduled to deal with a large commercial facility with a couple big break rooms and bathrooms of tile floors (again, mostly VCT but a couple bathrooms are grouted concrete type tile). I'm feeling a little overwhelmed but I imagine it's due to a lack of education in this area. I hired the hard floors our last year but this hear I'm going to fit it a go.

The tile is regularly maintained and never terrible.

What equipment would you take to a job like this? I'm one guy so the less I have to wrestle with, the better.

Do you have a suggestion for a good wet/dry vac at a good price? Should I get the kind with the option to squeegee built in to its head in the front?

Do you normally go in to a VCT situation expecting to strip it first? I scrubbed one a couple weeks ago and recoated it with 2 coats of finish and was pretty surprised how nice it turned out.

Cimex or 175?
What pads?

Thanks!

The Clean Machine

Shane Deubell

Supportive Member
Impossible for any of us to know if something needs to be scrub or stripped without being there. I would plan on stripping until you have more real life experience and then you can just look at it and know.

You can use any commercial shop vac for slurry until you have steady vct work, we used the cheap home depot ones for a couple years.
To keep it simple bring 175,black pads and stripper, use the stripper in the bathrooms as well and spinner them.