How important is a website?

gimmeagig

Name
Roxy
There's a cleaner here in town who has a pretty elaborate website.
5 points of this, 7 biggest misconceptions of that, Long articles about carpet cleaning, questionaires where you leave your e-mail and phone number for a quote,guarantees and discount offers,special offers for realtors, past customers with nice things to say etc
Since I'm new to the business and know practically nothing yet, I read the whole thing( took me a while) but I'm asking myself does anybody really read this stuff?
Who goes on the internet to find a carpet cleaner?
Once I learn what I'm doing I want to advertize but I want to spend my money where it has the greatest effect.
How important is it to have website and how much of your business is being generated from that?

Fred Geyen

Your points well taken. If I could add to it I find it remarkable that people will put stuff on their web-site that they would never tell another soul.

Like who their customers are.
How they clean.
Which products they use.
Pricing in many cases.

We used to have to work to find out about competitors now they are proud to put it out their for all to see and what makes matters worse they get very little if any business from it. Does not mean things are not changing but so far "E" business is just not that big in Carpet Cleaning.
Anyone have a different story on how much business they get from Web?

I send potential clients(callers) there for information. Also to let them know what to do before and after the cleaning. Many other reasons.

GRHeacock

My opinion, I think it is a good thing to have.

However, I suppose it depends on the content whether it works for you or not.

I had my URL on my business cards, other literature, and on my van.

Between them, my web site generated around $2000 a month.

Since my retirement, it still generates around $500 a month.

I think in this day and age, every business should have one.

Gary

Steve Toburen

Supportive Member