Need help on electrical problem with Boxxer....

G

Boxxer 421 with about 2000 hours. Went to use it one day and battery was dead. Battery less than one year old. My van has a hard wire going up to truck battery from old TM so I hooked that up to Boxxer battery and was able to finish job. On next job machine shut down again. Now truck battery was also drained. Truck battery is almost brand new.

A few days later I had new TM battery in. Less than 2 jobs in same thing happens. Machine shuts down in mid job and battery is dead.

Is there an alternator or something similar that is not charging or acting as it should? I'm no mechanic, just want to have an idea before I take it somewhere.

C

C. Copplepot

Boxxer 421 has a briggs and stratton right? The battery charges through the RPM's so there is no alternator. I had the same problem its an easy fix it should cost you around $50 bucks or so. The charging system is usually on the right hand side with one to two wires coming out, you can also fix it yourself. I'm sure someone will chime in with better spec info.

Larry Cobb

Name
Larry Cobb
Curt;

The TM is discharging the battery.

Even if it is not charging the truck system should keep it charged.

Could be a bad rectifier on the TM.

Larry

Greenie

Wait til midnight, grab a flashlight, and go swipe Jerks, he won't miss it cause he won't fire up his unit til Fri.

Becker

Name
Becker
Your manual might be of some help in finding out what tpye of charging system you have.

If you don't find what you need you can veiw a manual from Hydramaster.com.

My guess is the charging system is baked. Run the quick tests Bob suggested.

Whats ya going running the Boxxer? What about the bad ass Bluewave?

RichardnTn

Try this