Polishing Marble

Jamesh921

Name
James
I'm new to polishing stone and need to know how to charge.

I have a motel lobby that has only minor scratches. I'm going to use a 3000 grit followed with an 8000 grit to bring back some shine to the floor.

So, do you charge per sq. ft. for each polishing?

Or what is your formula for charging for this service?

Thanks

Mikey P

Administrator
Non carpet cleaning stone pros will usually charge by the day.

Around here it's about $1200 per day or $700 for a half day/smaller job

When I was tinkering with polishing it felt like a buck a step/grit is what it would take to bring in carpet cleaning dollars.

mcatt

Name
Mike
I never did it the way your describing. I only have used the polishing powder to bring back the finish which works great. Not sure if that will take care of the scratches your describing? I try to get $1.50 sq ft or so for a polish and rinse.

floorguy

Supportive Member
Name
Doug
If it is in fact "minor" Then a Polishing powder is what you need....that 3000 will either not make a dent....or make a big mess (though so will the powder if not done right)

and Mikey is right...around a buck a ft per grit....then of course adjust depending on the custy

Jamesh921

Name
James
OK so about a buck to a buck fitty a foot per grit. Thanks

Can you elaborate more on how to use the powder and what the difference is between using the powder and the diamond pads? And which brand of powder?

I was planning on using the 3000 and 8000 grit diamond pads and then applying Spinergy's "Revive" Enhancer and Sealer. If this isn't going to give me the "like-new" results I'm looking for, what "should" I be doing/applying?

Larry Cobb

Name
Larry Cobb
James;

A well-formulated polishing powder consists of several components:
1. A very fine abrasive to cut the stone
2. A time-release acid component to enhance the polishing process
3. A polishing resin to add to the shine It does take a little practice to obtain the optimum results.