Rotovac cfx ranger and 360i (the ultimate Portable discussion)

Discussion in 'The Hardware' started by Sky, Mar 29, 2017.

By Sky on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:39 PM
  1. Sky
    Sky

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Name:
    Sky L.
    I purchased the delux package from rotovac and have recently started using it. I am new to carpet cleaning and am absolutely flustered by the set-up and breakdown time. Some people say it only takes them about twenty minutes to set up their porty where as it took me about 40min to set up the cfx to the faucet run hose to the toilet and begin auto pump out.

    Is this set up time normal when first starting or is this simply normal for the rotovac portable package? I do not have the money for a TM so no need to suggest it. Also there are 6 wires needed, where as other portables only have about two to four wires. Any thoughts on this?

Comments

Discussion in 'The Hardware' started by Sky, Mar 29, 2017.

    1. Goomer
      Goomer

      Member

      Joined:
      Feb 9, 2009
      Messages:
      3,136
      Location:
      Bronx, New York
      Name:
      Frank Mendo
      Speaking of the extra RV cord with a porty, I was thinking that when I pickup a RV to splice in an outlet and mount it on my porty switch plate and make a RV specific vac hose that an electric cord can be wrapped with, kind of like a hide-a-hose, but on the outside.

      Wondering if it would be worth the effort by keeping the cord out of the way and not having to reposition the plug so often when doing different areas.
    2. Papa John
      Papa John

      Lifetime Supportive Member

      Joined:
      Aug 19, 2013
      Messages:
      2,253
      Location:
      San Francisco, CA.
      Name:
      John Stewart
      Am I to understand that you want to bundle a vacuum hose and electric cord together so that you move both as one and that 3 electical cords would basically come from porty?? That might work if you can find 3 different circuits within reach of the porty.. but sometimes cords have to go on opposite sides of the working radius of the porty.
    3. Goomer
      Goomer

      Member

      Joined:
      Feb 9, 2009
      Messages:
      3,136
      Location:
      Bronx, New York
      Name:
      Frank Mendo
      I'm talking about splicing into the lower amp drawing cord (1 vac-no APO) inside the compartment and ruining a lead to an outlet on the machine switch pannel.
      Machine would still run on 2 cords/circuits.

      The vac, solution and RV power cord would all run back to the machine, stay out of the way, and the RV power would not need to be moved to different outlets during a job.
    4. Desk Jockey
      Desk Jockey

      The ONE

      Joined:
      Oct 9, 2006
      Messages:
      53,148
      Location:
      a planet far far away
      Name:
      uhh huh youuu got it!
      Make sure its a nice home when you trot that out. We clean up after fire and smoke if you wouldn't mind giving them my card.

      I'd much appreciate it. :winky:
      Old Coastie likes this.
    5. Mikey P
      Mikey P

      Administrator

      Joined:
      Oct 6, 2006
      Messages:
      67,058
      Location:
      The High Chapperal
      Name:
      Mike Pay-oh-tay
      Good gawd...

      I'm gonna go molest the 370 and thank the heavens for ranch style homes
    6. Goomer
      Goomer

      Member

      Joined:
      Feb 9, 2009
      Messages:
      3,136
      Location:
      Bronx, New York
      Name:
      Frank Mendo
      It's only adding 4+ amps to that cord which is only running one vac.
      Desk Jockey likes this.
    7. Papa John
      Papa John

      Lifetime Supportive Member

      Joined:
      Aug 19, 2013
      Messages:
      2,253
      Location:
      San Francisco, CA.
      Name:
      John Stewart
      Might be worth a try Goomer if you think your porty can handle the amp draw...

      I envy you rural guys.. just too afraid/lazy to start over in different area.
    8. Goomer
      Goomer

      Member

      Joined:
      Feb 9, 2009
      Messages:
      3,136
      Location:
      Bronx, New York
      Name:
      Frank Mendo
      I think it may be worth trying.

      I am sure you know all too well how important cord and hose management can be to a porty hack, and how even minor tweaks can make a big difference.

      I'd rub one out to my 370 if I had one.

      You puzzies have it easy.

      Trust me, it's not all by choice.

      I can't change my market.
      Mikey P likes this.
    9. GeeeAus
      GeeeAus

      Supportive Member

      Joined:
      Sep 23, 2013
      Messages:
      819
      Location:
      Whyalla
      Name:
      Grant Baverstock
      Excellent idea....

      Just excellent.
    10. Goomer
      Goomer

      Member

      Joined:
      Feb 9, 2009
      Messages:
      3,136
      Location:
      Bronx, New York
      Name:
      Frank Mendo
      It might be.

      The important thing to do would be to use good heavy wire and safely wire it to a solidly mounted female plug of some type.

      No skimping with this.

      Gotta do it right and check to see if any wires are hot during trails.

      With an 11-13 amp draw from a typical 3-stage on that circuit already, adding another 4amps, although cutting it close, may hold on enough 15amp circuits to not make it a pain in the ass.

      That's the key right there.

      It's failure rate on a 15amp circuit will make or break the idea to me, especially at the moment the RV demands a starting load.

      Yes....All this to only simplify the management of one fooking cord.

      Porty hack OCD at it's worst.
      Desk Jockey and GeeeAus like this.
    11. Papa John
      Papa John

      Lifetime Supportive Member

      Joined:
      Aug 19, 2013
      Messages:
      2,253
      Location:
      San Francisco, CA.
      Name:
      John Stewart
      Goomer, be sure the RE only draws 4 amps-- looks like they draw more then 4 amps.
      older 360 may have only been 4 amps but I think newer versions with bigger motor draw more the 4amp-
      Mikey P likes this.
    12. Old Coastie
      Old Coastie

      Supportive Member

      Joined:
      Jun 29, 2015
      Messages:
      4,005
      Location:
      Heart of Dixie
      Name:
      Stephen
      The problem with pushing the load is the lights that share that circuit.
    13. Desk Jockey
      Desk Jockey

      The ONE

      Joined:
      Oct 9, 2006
      Messages:
      53,148
      Location:
      a planet far far away
      Name:
      uhh huh youuu got it!
      Run a spider box to the 220 dryer out. Just have different prong adapters for the different setups.

      Then your only problem would be if they have a gas dryer & stove.
    14. Lee Stockwell
      Lee Stockwell

      FOJL

      Joined:
      Oct 7, 2006
      Messages:
      13,293
      Location:
      Benton KY USA
      Name:
      Lee Stockwell
      I'm sure customers LOVE you moving their dryer or range?
      Cleanworks likes this.
    15. Desk Jockey
      Desk Jockey

      The ONE

      Joined:
      Oct 9, 2006
      Messages:
      53,148
      Location:
      a planet far far away
      Name:
      uhh huh youuu got it!
      About as much as seeing enter there house a portable and 6 or eight cords. That meter will spin faster than a Cessna.
      Bob Pruitt likes this.
    16. GeeeAus
      GeeeAus

      Supportive Member

      Joined:
      Sep 23, 2013
      Messages:
      819
      Location:
      Whyalla
      Name:
      Grant Baverstock
      Man you guys worry about the small stuff sometimes.

      Why would the customer care? Yet to meet one who does.
    17. Desk Jockey
      Desk Jockey

      The ONE

      Joined:
      Oct 9, 2006
      Messages:
      53,148
      Location:
      a planet far far away
      Name:
      uhh huh youuu got it!
      Ours would shit...then would we would have to clean that up for free. :winky:
      Old Coastie likes this.
    18. Cleanworks
      Cleanworks

      Member

      Joined:
      Oct 22, 2012
      Messages:
      6,107
      Location:
      New Westminster,BC
      Name:
      Ron Marriott
      I think it should work. Your amp draw will be low enough when you have all the hoses connected.
    19. Cleanworks
      Cleanworks

      Member

      Joined:
      Oct 22, 2012
      Messages:
      6,107
      Location:
      New Westminster,BC
      Name:
      Ron Marriott
      Tilt the RV back when starting, then lower it onto the carpet.
      Goomer likes this.
    20. Cleanworks
      Cleanworks

      Member

      Joined:
      Oct 22, 2012
      Messages:
      6,107
      Location:
      New Westminster,BC
      Name:
      Ron Marriott
      That's what happens when you have shitty customers to begin with.

Share This Page