Tear out pad?

Discussion in 'Water, Fire, & Smoke Damage' started by Stevie Bs, Feb 12, 2018.

1. Stevie Bs
    Stevie Bs

Do you guys tear out pad on every job, even if it's a cat 1 and not very old?
    Every WD company I ask say they tear it out regardless. I don't.
    Just curious as to why some do it.

BEFORE YOU REPLY:
    I have the meters, Xtreme Xtractor, badass dehus, certifications, experience, blah, blah blah etc., etc.., but feel free to talk to me like I'm a Rookie if you need to, as long as some part of your reply addresses the question.
    Thanks.
  2. Lee Stockwell
    Lee Stockwell

FOJL

Name:
    Lee Stockwell
    Well shoot, you take the fun out of it.

It depends...
    Bruce Humphrey, hogjowl and Stevie Bs like this.
  3. Stevie Bs
    Stevie Bs

Too funny. You know how it goes...
    Lee Stockwell likes this.
  4. Lee Stockwell
    Lee Stockwell

FOJL

Name:
    Lee Stockwell
    Always a tradeoff. Usually goes if: over particle board, blandex, or swelling plywood. Cheaper way to remove a lot of moisture and get better drying of baseboards and more.
    Matt Wood likes this.
  5. Stevie Bs
    Stevie Bs

Thanks Lee. Good answer.
  6. Desk Jockey
    Desk Jockey

Rico Suave

Name:
    Mr Misunderstood
    No "We always" from our crews. Every situation is different and should be elvaluated as such.

Pad replacement is expensive so we save what we can, when it makes the most sense. Those with pet pad and non-permeable vapor barriers we have to pull.

In the last few years we are pulling more of it as the pet pad becomes more prevalent.

Just off the cuff I'd say we save more than half.
    Stevie Bs likes this.
  7. The Great Oz
    The Great Oz

Name:
    bryan
    Shortest answer:
    When it comes down to what is better for the structure and enables the fastest drying at the lowest cost, pad removal is it.

Longer short answer (removing politics and admitting to being just an interested observer):