Tile border on Pool

nickreal

I have a client that asked me if I could clean the tile that borders the water level on his pool. I told him I've never done it before so I would have to check to make sure the chemicals I use wont thrash the ph on his pool water. Anyone ever deal with this? Any advice would be appreciated.

thanks guys

J Scott W

Name
Jeffrey Scott Warrington
You did not say what chemicals you would be using or what process you would clean with.

If you use a tool with a spinning water jet (SX-12, Turbo, etc.) it should be capable of recover almost all of the dirty cleaning solution along with the soil. Very little would get into the pool. The volume of water in the pool should dilute most products sufficiently that there will be very little effect on the pH of the pool water.

Applying a powdered oxidizer (Boost All) to the grout lines before applying your prespray will give a cleaning boost with no added chemical residue or effect on pool water pH.

Be careful when applying prespray to keep it on the surface you want to clean. This can be tricky if the cleaning is done on a windy day.

Scott Warrington

Gary T

How bad is it? Is there the usual white mineral build-up by the water line? If so you will be hard pressed to clean this with conventional methods. The best way to get rid of this is by physical means, usually by media blasting.

If you use chems, they will get in the water and will screw up the water balance. It doesn't take much to do it either. Pics would be great.

nickreal

looks like normal hard water build up around the edge of the water level. There is also a lot of buildup where the spa overflows (like a 48 inch wide 12 inch drop) into the pool. I was thinking of using a small tool I have that looks similar to the sx 7.

alazo1

Name
Albert Lazo