What is needed

Abigail

Name
Stacy
I'm VERY new at this business. I have a 360i and a portable DHX. I also have the tile/grout brush for the 360.
I will be doing residential work.

To do other surfaces, hardwood, natural stones, vcts, vinyl, whatever! What would I need? I see machines for hardwood floors, and others are a 175 with heads???
If I go this route, I will be taking a class on these surfaces, but I'd like to know what kind of equipment I'll need to acquire to do those jobs. AND is it worth it? I like to be someone my customers can get all their flooring cleaned by.

And yes, I know I need a truckmount! :). That's also in the works:).

I am just trying to determine if I want to limit myself to carpet and tile, or do other flooring.
FYI, I'm a lady (e40s) doing this as a second career (but sole income).

Charlie Lyman

Supportive Member
Name
Charlie Lyman
Start checking craigslist for a used 175. If you have questions about one that you see, ask here. Read the threads here about natural stone. Look into restoring showers too.
If I only did carpet, I'd not make as much as I do. I also do repairs and stretching. That service lands me big jobs because people want to call just one person for the job. I've taken carpet cleaning jobs from other people because I can stretch the carpet and clean it too.
Troll through the posts and you will find a wealth of info here. I'll find you a couple to start.

Sent from my motorola flip phone using Crapatalk 1.1

Abigail

Name
Stacy
Countertop restoration sounds fantastic. And easy! The tool he used is listed at only about $150. That's not bad.
I was also looking at the hardwood floors because they are so popular. The machine costs are much higher. Although it looks like a 175 could be used on that as well.
Please confirm all the 175s will just use different pads for different flooring?
In this case buying a 175 and going through the extra steps for hardwood may be worth it for the ability to use it for stone floors.