Terms and rules

Playing cricket in the IPL

The game is played between two teams of 11 players each. The goal of the game is to score more points (runs) than the opposing team. A match consists of one or more parts, each of which is called an innings. In each innings, one team strikes out and the other team pitches one time.

Cricket is usually played on grass. Cricket field is an oval pitch with a 22-yard strip of ground in the center.

Three posts are driven into the pitch at each end of the strip of ground and two small wooden crossbars are placed on top of them. This structure is called a wicket. At each wicket, players on the batting team hold bats. The player on the field team, called the bowler, throws the ball from one wicket towards the other wicket while trying to hit the wicket. A player on the kicker's team who is close to the wicket protects the wicket with the bat.

If the kicker hits the ball, he may run to the opposite wicket. The player standing at the other wicket runs towards him trying to take the batter's place. Each such run is a point for the kicking team. The serving team tries to catch the ball and return it to one of the wickets. If the ball hits the wicket when at least one of the runners is between the wickets (behind the line), that runner is out and another player from the kicking team takes his place. The batter is also out if he failed to protect his wicket from the ball while it was being served or the ball was caught by the serving team before it hit the ground.

When 10 players of the kicking team are out of play, the teams switch places. If both teams have pitched one inning each, the inning ends. A multi-inning game usually consists of one or two innings (usually 5 days for two innings). The team with the most runs scored at the end of the match is declared the winner. If the time allotted for a match is up before it has time to end, a tie is declared.

Indian Premier League

Each team competing in the IPL must play two matches against another team, and after those matches, the team that is in the top four. These teams advance to the playoffs. Find out also about the Best Finishers In IPL.

In the playoffs, a match is played between the top two teams for a spot in the finals, and the team that wins that match advances to the finals.

Given that the losing team gets another chance to qualify for the finals, and that team plays the team that wins the second qualifying match between the third and fourth place teams and the team that wins the second qualifying match plays in the finals.

That's why every IPL team tries to get into the top two so that even if they lose, they can get a second chance to make the finals.

How cricket evolved from a colonial game into the national sport of India

Very briefly about cricket itself. It is played on an oval field by two teams of 11 players each. In the center are two pairs of goals - three sticks on which lie two cylinders. One of the teams tries to knock them down by throwing the ball, and the other tries to hit them back with the bat. The goal of the team: to score more points, which are awarded for successful reflection of the ball, knocking down the goal, running across the field, etc. The game has a lot of nuances and tactics, so to an outside viewer it may seem too complicated, confusing and sometimes boring. For example, in the "test match" confrontation between two teams can last for five days. Emerged in the XXI century format T20 provides the shortest - up to 3.5 hours, and therefore more dynamic game.

Cricket in its more or less modern form originated in the 16th-17th centuries in England and quickly gained the status of the national sport. And then the British spread the game throughout its colonies. In 1721, British sailors first played cricket in India. In 1792, in Calcutta, the center of the British colony, the first cricket club was formed, which still exists today. Although initially only Europeans were accepted into its ranks.

Gradually the game became of interest to the locals as well. The Parsis, descendants of Iranian immigrants of Zoroastrianism, were the earliest pioneers in the field. With the arrival of the British they were the first to cooperate with Europeans, playing the role of trade mediators, and borrowed elements of the European way of life. In 1848, the Parsis opened the first cricket club in Bombay and within the next 20 years the number of such clubs grew to 30. The young Parsi bourgeoisie regarded the game of cricket as a means of forging ties with the colonial administration.

Further, centuries of competition between different faith communities in India played a role in the spread of the game. Unwilling to yield to the Parsis, the Hindus in Bombay began to play cricket, followed by the Muslims. At the end of the century there were several clubs in the city representing different ethno-confessional communities.

At first the British scoffed at the attempts of the local population to play the "gentlemen's game," especially their attire and technique, but later they changed their attitude. First, the Indians gradually improved their skills. They abandoned the traditional cumbersome dhoti during matches in favor of regular pants, and the Parsis in the 1880s hired a player from England, Robert Henderson, to coach them.

Most importantly, however, cricket in England itself came to be seen as a means of cultural expansion that could strengthen ties between enslaved peoples and the metropolis. "First the hunter, the missionary and the merchant, then the soldier and the politician, and finally the cricket player - this is the history of British colonization. And of these civilizing influences, the latter perhaps did the least harm," wrote Cecil Headla, an English traveler and historian, in 1903.

In 1877 a competition between teams of Europeans and Parsis began in Bombay. And in the 1890s, Governor Lord Harris set aside land for an annual tournament in which teams of Parsis, Hindus, and Muslims from all over India competed. Professional cricket teams from Britain soon began to arrive in the colony for exhibition appearances, and in 1911 the Indian team traveled to the metropolis for the first time, although it was defeated there in most games.

Eventually the European, Parsi and Hindu teams began competing in Bombay in 1907, with the Muslims joining them in 1912. The tournament was called the Bombay Quadrilateral and became the most popular in India. For the duration of the tournament, life in the city came to a standstill, and sports news spread throughout the country.

For more information about the tournament, go here https://mimy.online/lp/icc-t20-world-cup.

Latest posts

Top Bottom