Carpet inspector

Louis

Supportive Member
Name
Louis
Thinking about doing this. As I get older I might go in this direction. Also it would set me apart from the other guys.
What do you think? Is it worth it.

Thanks

Louis

Supportive Member
Name
Louis
Lol. Maybe start my own board and go newbie hunting claiming to be the industry expert.
Just trying to figure out if I want to keep doing the carpet thing or go back and finish the business degree that I started when I was a purchaser for Kodak.

Reactions: Mikey P

Jim Pemberton

MB Exclusive.
Name
Jim Pemberton
I've been a carpet inspector for close to twenty years, but I pick and choose what I do. I do know people who attempt to do it full time, but for most inspectors its part time income.

One of the things you'll find is that if you are hired by the carpet manufacturer, your inspections will often displease consumers and carpet retailers, due to the fact that either the consumer will find they have no claim, or the retailer will be liable for a bad installation. So don't do this thinking it will make you friends with either group.

That's not to say you won't make some good contacts and build your reputation in your market place by being an inspector, but if you are always honest with your inspections and assessments, you will make those two groups of people unhappy more often than not.

hogjowl

Idiot™
I've been a carpet inspector for close to twenty years, but I pick and choose what I do. I do know people who attempt to do it full time, but for most inspectors its part time income.

One of the things you'll find is that if you are hired by the carpet manufacturer, your inspections will often displease consumers and carpet retailers, due to the fact that either the consumer will find they have no claim, or the retailer will be liable for a bad installation. So don't do this thinking it will make you friends with either group.