Customer miffed How should I have handled this?

gimmeagig

Name
Roxy
Hi,
I hope you'll take the time to read this and give me your input..
I'm pretty new to the business and a lot of things that come up are new to me, so please go easy on me.:)
I have an acquaintance he's a slumlord and he owns these dumps that he rents out to sometimes very questionable tenants. He had two small homes side by side that he was working on to be rented out again.He told me that he already had a quote for 100.- ( mayor may not be true)for the both of them and because I need the experience and was thinking I might get some future business if I show him what i can do, I told him I would match the price.He agreed.
The places were a real mess. House one: dark blue commercial grade short pile nylon, giant 3 ft across stain in one room. Came out fine and smelling good.House two: light colored Olefin and it was REALLY dirty. Stains and grime all over the place. I cleaned it including pre vac, pre spray and dryers on the carpet after.It also came out very nice.He still had workers in the house finishing projects.
Time to get paid, he didn't have a check with him so I told him he could mail it to me. He didn't, so when i called to remind him he agreed on a time and a place to meet to pay me. He made me drive to a different location where he showed up really late and I finally got my hundred bucks.
A couple of weeks later he called me to tell me that a lot of the spots in the Olefin house came back and that house one with the big stain stinks now.
I agreed to take a look at it.The olefin did not look good. Lots of spots everywhere.Remembering that people walked on the carpet right after and the trouble I had getting paid for a job that I bid really low, I told him I would do the whole house again for 50,-
He was really unhappy with that so I said I'd do it for 30.- just to make him happy, but he wanted it done for free.
I refused and he drove off mad.