****Dry and ElectroDry Questions

steamwizards

Name
Rob
I had my first client yesterday ask about those dry carpet cleaners, you know the ones that use chemicals. Rather than get into a debate I went through what I DO the steps I use to clean their carpet and was realistic with getting out stains (red wine which was in the carpet for a couple of years). And I got her business. I am finding a few clients who mention they have had their carpets done by xxxxxxxxxxxx or xxxxxxxxxxxxx, I nod, and continue the conversation.

How do you handle these questions from clients?

Rob

Jim Martin

Supportive Member
Name
Jim Martin
I just say that I understand so I at least acknowledge them...and then I just move the conversation forward to something else.......it services no pourpose to talk about other cleaners....

Reactions: dealtimeman
Name
Lee Stockwell
A 2013 newbie who hangs out on MB has a HUGE advantage. When I was a 1970 newbie there were few honest sources of info for this industry.

Shorty

RIP
Name
Shorty Glanville
& NONE in Australia.

Remember, NO INTERNET, we had a cleaners association which was basically for contract cleaners (janitors), but nothing at all for dedicated carpet cleaners.

We bought our equipment from the local cleaning store and trusted :lol: their advice, which generally turned out to be :bullshit:

Living in the sticks rather than the smoke had it's own problems as there was very little knowledge to be had in this field.

They were certainly "interesting times", to say the least.

Even communications was awkward, but less stressful, an answering machine to come home to at the end of the day, and down the track we had a pager to take a printed message on a one line screen.

Then we would find a telephone box and phone the enquirer.

Now we have all these electronic gizmo's that cost the earth to try and make life easier.