Dude, you don't know nothin.

Dolly Llama

Number 5
Name
Larry Capitoni
Met some white dude installing today at one of the condo's we service .
Clean cut fellow, mid to late 40's, doing a repair .
(replacing dog chewed/clawed carpet in hall and steps)

I'm always looking for "clean cut" installers to refer and sub, so I struck up a conversation to feel this guy out.

the question came up

"what method do you use?"

I told him we're qualified to do all cleaning methods and use several.

He said ,

"good, cause i tell all my custys to never steam clean the carpet"

so that begged the question for me ,

" why?
All the mills recommend steam cleaning"

"oh course they do" says he.
"They want it to fall a part to sell more.
Look, I've been installing for 28 years......blah blah blah...steam cleaning ruins carpet "

:roll:

Then he went on to tell me how wetting the backing dissolves the glue.

"It's impossible to not wet the backing"
he tells me.

Then holds a piece of carpet for illustration, and says,

"See this backing?
It's connected with "water soluble" glue

At which point, I'd had enough of an "education" from Mr. 28years SmellingseamtapeFumes and simply said,

"Oh, Oooooh-Kay"

and walked away

..L.T.A.

Name
Danny Strickland
you shoulda drew down on him and made him take it all back!!! :twisted:

PS ya coulda tolt him yore a closet enCRAPPER, he woulda let ya bum a smoke!!! :lol:

Jim Nelson

Name
Jim nelson
I had a guy say the same thing to me, i say no it wont he sad hear take this pice of new carpet to the bathroom and put it under water damn thing came apart like he sad it would . Go see for your self it's shocking to see .

Dolly Llama

Number 5
Name
Larry Capitoni
Jim Nelson said:
I had a guy say the same thing to me, i say no it wont he sad hear take this pice of new carpet to the bathroom and put it under water damn thing came apart like he sad it would . Go see for your self it's shocking to see .

you ever do any clean water flood jobs, Jim?

..L.T.A.