For you BD Cold weather boys!! Heating van outside.

jstucky

Name
Jordan Stucky
Getting new set up this week and finalizing business loan Thursday to take over what I've been running for 6 years.

YES..I will be a new TM Owner and no longer a porty hack.

I'm in good old Central Iowa.

I had a garage lined up and it fell through last week.

WORST CASE SCENARIO. If I need to heat van outside. Which I know some think may be a bad idea. I have normal cargo van with no fancy insulation job.

If we go below zero again, will heat stay inside the van if it's parked outside with heater running.

Do you set heater or small fan next to blower or main truckmount area??? We will mostly be in 20's and 30's next week during day. One night maybe below zero.

Thanks!!!

OH! And for those curious :)...I am getting a TM Custom built from frame. 45 Roots Blower. 1800 PSI Hypro. 20 HP Motor. W/Heat Exchanger but I am still looking to Adapt Hotsy 350,000 BTU Heater to if I hear back from owner of the Hotsy machine I am looking at.

Able 1

Name
Keith
Keeping it out of the wind is HUGE , but if you can't... cover your truck mount with a couple nice sleeping bags and blow your heater under right at the exchangers and pump if you can. On the real cold nights use two heaters on different circuits. Keep your hoses off the floor and take your tools inside. Best to use an inline thermostat

Last edited:

Giorgio

Name
Giorgio
On those super cold night I run three electric heaters in my vortex parked outside.

A submersible bucket heater in the fresh water tank. A fan style heater to circulate the air and wall wall heater.

It proved sufficient when we had minus 10 degree nights a couple years ago.

bob vawter

Grassy Knoller
Name
bob vawter
in addition hang a litebulb next to the pressure guage and one at the pump as well....
the capilary tube going to the pressure guage will freeze first of all.....

Giorgio

Name
Giorgio
You might not need fancy insulation.