Hiring..

White Collar

Name
Nick Petersen
I got a call from a guy this week, he has been working for sears for a few years and has 25 years experience in carpet cleaning. Im a solo operator and would love to have help. I'm just not sure what the best way to pay him would be.

He has all his own carpet repair and restreching equipment and I have none and I'm not trained yet. I was thinking to pay him 20% of all carpet jobs he does, and 60% for repair and strecthing.

I've never had employees so I'm not sure if this is reasonable or if there is a better way. I want him to feel apart of the business and give him incentives to work hard and do a good job.

I don't advertise repair and restreching, should I just include it in my advertisements or should it be seperate?

I'm thankful for any help.

Ed

Name
Ed Prevost
I've never hired an "experienced" cleaner that worked out. I'd much rather hire a great personality that's not afraid to work. Experienced in our industry is latin for bad habits.

B&BGaryC

Name
B&BGaryC
I get paid 25% if I clean something somebody else priced and sold
I get paid 35% if I clean something I priced and sold
I get paid 50% if I clean something I cold called priced and sold, if I can prove it was not in response to advertising.

Other than the 15% bonus for cold calls I think my wages are right on par. I have heard of a breakdown of 35% for just cleaning and an extra 5% for the bid... I have also heard of 30% for just cleaning and an extra 5% for the bid.

If you only want to pay him 20% for cleaning, I think you would be better off to offer him a good hourly rate or salary and take it in the shorts during the slow season.

However, nobody really takes me seriously on this board, so take it with a grain of salt. The usually riff-raff should be in her shortly to tell you I'm wrong....

B&BGaryC

Name
B&BGaryC
Ed said: