How it get a SBA Loan.

ACE

Name
Mike Hughes
I will be finalizing a $35K SBA loan later this week. I have been working on getting financing for 9 months. I have bankers and finance companies tell me no at least a dozen times. I had a chapter 7 bankruptcy 6 years ago and refuse to go to the sharks or let anyone co-sign. I am posting this in hopes that it might save someone else in a similar situation some of the time and frustration I was subjected to. You can go read all about SBA loans at www.sba.gov so I will give a quick overview of the program and focus on the valuable information the SBA doesn’t tell you.

Overview:
The SBA program is one of the few government programs that actually pays for itself and seems to work. The SBA guarantees business loans made by leaders for business that are not qualified for a traditional bank loan. The SBA works with all types of business and backs loans from a few thousand into the hundreds of millions. Private lenders working with the SBA have the authority on whether or not to issue a loan and you cannot apply directly to the SBA. Lenders cannot charge more than a couple points over prime. Rates being what they are, allot of leaders do not have any interest in SBA loans because of low profitability. An SBA loan might be ideal if you have a solid business plan but you credit or collateral is a little week. You still have to make a banker believe you will repay the loan. Even if they don’t losse money, the last thing a banker wants to do is liquidate a business. The SBA just lowers the risk factor for a lender.

Getting ready: