Hydracide, ph, and long dry times

mozilla700

Name
Steve
I have been using hydracide as a deodorizer for a couple months now. It seems to kill odors quite well. However, inexplicably I have been getting complaints about long dry times and maybe some browning ph issues which I haven't had a problem with before. I have to wonder if the Hydracide is the problem since my equipment seems to be working fine. I do know that ph shifts will impede carpets from drying properly. Has anyone else had a similar problem? I have been filling my hydraforce sprayer 1/4 full with hydracide and going the rest of the way with water. I am doing this correctly, right?

FredC

Village Idiot
I could be wrong....but I really doubt the hydrocide has anything to do with it. Likely a coincidence.

What else have you changed recently? Up the pressure? Changed jets? Have you checked for things that could decrease vacuum performance...like clogged waste tank filter/basket, clogged wand manifold/glide, vac relief, etc? Are you spraying heavier than normal attempting to deodorize?

PS..nice truck
46707437_scaled_304x228.jpg

Last edited:

mozilla700

Name
Steve
Well thanks. I have been doing this for 20 years and I am extracting the same as I always have before. It is true that I spray the carpet thoroughly with the hydracide. The machine is working just like it should, vaccuum, wand, etc. So, I'm at my wits end. It does seem to only happen after I have used the hydracide, though. So, I am drawing a connection.

idreadnought

Supportive Member
Name
Richard
using a hydraforce will put a lot of moisture in the carpet. When it is needed I let the customer know that pairing agent deodorizers will add dry time to the carpet and I focus the treatment on areas that need it.

browning of the tips could be a natural effect of long dry times and wicking.

Goomer

Name
Frank Mendo