I found a steal on an RX20, what shall I do?

JMill

Name
Jeremiah Miller
I often get myself into trouble by keeping an eye out for good deals on CL. In fact that is how I got myself into this business. I have found a steal, $300, on an RX20. And as far as I can tell, and I could use some input as to what to look for, it is in great shape. It looks like it has been sitting in storage most of its life. It appears that this might be an original RX20. If the serial numbers are sequential I would bet on it, since the SN is 501.

So here are my hesitations:
* $$$, I am just starting out and, as I eluded to earlier, I sorta jumped into this business. So I have a lot to learn and any $$$ comes from our fams budget or savings.
* Do I really need an RX20 or shall I just keep looking for a 175. Especially since I want to focus on commercial encap.
* Is their anything about the early RX20s that would/should deter me? I read some where that their is a "high speed" model. Also, I saw that Greenie (I think that's right) can upgrade these, at least the more recent ones, with glides and such so they are monsters.

I just keep going back to how good of a deal it seems. I have seen a number of used RX20s but their all in the $1k range.

What shall I do?

Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk

John Olson

Name
John Olson
$300 is either a great deal or it could be a $300 boat anchor. You didn't post enough info to help. Post the ad or copy and paste it and the pictures. Even then until you run it and make sure the gear box is good,and the star is straight and the feet and shoes are good there is no way to says yes or no. $300 is likely a hand of black jack, you might flip A,J or you might bust..I say what the hell go for it.. I just dropped 6500 yesterday on used equipment that I'm sure hoping all runs LOL