I was asked today for a written contract...

Able 1

Name
Keith
Not even sure what one would include. :oops: I'm new to the whole commercial thing... I emailed an estimate from QB ,and thought that would be good enough. Anyone have a copy to check out? PM or post here.

Thanks alot,
Keith

J Scott W

Name
Jeffrey Scott Warrington
Let the contract be as bare bones as possible. A contract does not really bind them to anything. They can dump you whenever they want. What you want to do is make them put the contract away in some drawer or file cabinet and never look at it again.

Details that will change over time such as the price, maybe even the areas covered, how often and so forth can be in a separate document and just referenced.

Then your quote (not estimate, becaus estimates can be off or change) will have the details of what is done, how it is done and the price.

The contract will just say that cleaning will be done as specific in the then current quote and specificatiosn. This is like the little cards you sign to join a book club, record card or whatever. You will always be billed "at the then current price."

You might add that either party can cancel with 30 days written notice. They will cancel if they feel like it anyway.

Then you provide good service and make sure they never take the contract out of the drawer. It should never expire or run out. That only leads them to put it up for bids.

Brian R

Name
Brian Robison
A contract just proves permission and keeps everyone on the same page (literally) with what's to be done.

Fletch

I just did my first commercial job this week. I too would like to see a good contract, especially one that speaks to a recurring schedule. I can see how commercial work could even things out throughout the year for me.

Thanks

Hoody

Supportive Member
Name
Steven Hoodlebrink
This is possibly going to be a bit long.