New around here...

soluble85

Name
Username
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the cleaning stuff, and hopefully I'm not on the wrong part of the internet right now. I started recently trying to clean my car, which led to me taking a look at the various carpet cleaners at local big box retail stores, to eventually removing the seats, and shampooing the carpets with some basic product and a wet/dry vac and was rather surprised with the results.

Soon after I started learning more about the Rug Doctor and Big Green machines, professional steamers, and extractors, mostly in the auto-detailing side from online sources and trying to figure out what equipment I should get.

Well, here I am today, and sort of unexpectedly ordered a commercial Bissell Big Green (BG10.) I have now looked a bit more into the general home or office cleaning aspects of everything, and the prospects of starting a cleaning business. I've always had an interest in the business side of things, and am intrigued by the idea of building up a company.

I don't have much experience in the way of professional cleaning, and am considering finding a position in such an area to get a basic feel for it, and a sense of the work-flow and process. Or maybe just jump right into this as a part-time thing for now.

I'm also trying to learn more about the different types and structures for cleaning businesses to get a sense of what I may be interested in, as it seems its a wide area for specialization... Carpets, general cleaning, maintenance, hardwood flooring, etc.

Would the Bissell Big Green BG10 be a fair machine to start with, if I wanted to do some basic cleaning (residential) to get started with? What else might I want or should I have instead? And maybe just carpet cleaning is too narrow of a field? I know my mom has basically replaced all of carpet with vinyl flooring these days due to pets, and maintenance issues essentially.

Thanks

Desk Jockey

Name
Rico Suave
Bissell Big Green BG10