New to VCT

Mike Green

Name
Mike Green
Okay here's my question, I'm rather new to the VCT world. I've only done a couple dozen small jobs all under 5K square feet each. I am being pressed rather hard buy a few of my commercial contractors to start doing VCT. When it comes to porcelain ceramic or natural stone we got it down. My question is I've got a 20000 square foot job that needs pricing ASAP. We have several portable units several swing arm machines and all the pads we could ever need. But I don't have a lot of experience with brand new VCT. I've always bid rather High on the smaller jobs because I wasn't competing against anyone. I'm not competing against many on this newer job either. I would like some advice as far as pricing on average for something this big. I know I will have to come in do a light buff and clean. Then seal and wax. By my figures with labor included I'm looking at about a dollar a foot. If I can get any advice it would be greatly appreciated.

Old Coastie

Supportive Member
Name
Stephen
Mike, I was offered a chance to bid on some local schools, about 200,000 square feet.
I turned it down because it was too much for me to handle. I would have priced at around $.75/foot if I had the capacity.

I heard the winning bid was $.07/ft, for which I could not even provide materials, let alone strip and refinish. Go in at whatever price you think it would take, but do not be surprised if someone undercuts you by a bunch. Sometimes those huge jobs are not money makers.

Hack Attack

Name
Dan
Mike, I was offered a chance to bid on some local schools, about 200,000 square feet.
I turned it down because it was too much for me to handle. I would have priced at around $.75/foot if I had the capacity.