Newbie question-stairs

Abigail

Name
Stacy
I am just getting started. I'm a woman and not a spring chicken, so I need something that works for me.
I purchased a Rotovac DHX and CFX. I don't care for the upholstery tool that came with it. It's called a 'contained spray detailer tool'
I cannot use the Rotovac on the stairs. And this tool is hard work on the stairs. It also wets the carpet and upholstery too much. I'd like something I can use on stairs that won't break my back. And something better for the upholstery.
The Rotovac guys are pushing their expensive stuff, of course, but I'd like to hear from the people who are out there using the items!

Suggestions anyone.

And thanks !

KevinL

Supportive Member
Name
Kevin Leach
welcome Abby, if we can call you that. There has been tons of discussions on the best upholstery tools so just search back. Stair tools can be bought from any supplier. Check Superior or Jondon. Don't let the meatheads here convince you to clean stairs with a floor wand. That will wear you out fast.

Name
Steve Lawrence
Hi Abigail,
Whatever you do avoid the short stair tools that require you to bend or kneel down to clean stairs. It will kill your back after one flight. Get a stair tool that you can use while standing on the stairs. We took old carpet wands and chopped them down to the ideal height for stair cleaning. Works great.

Russ T.

Supportive Member
Name
Russ Terhaar
Agreed. I think you would like a dedicated stair tool the best, probably a "long handled" one. stairs are still a lot of work to do it right but you'll get the hang of it. I agree with what you said about the Rotovac attachment. The 360i is great in a filthy living room but too awkward for stairs IMO. Stick around here and you will learn A LOT! Welcome and good luck!

Russ

Reactions: Desk Jockey

ruff

Name
Ofer Kolton
Hi Abigail,