Newbie sole propriatorship tax ?

Abigail

Name
Stacy
I am just getting started. Haven't had a client yet.
I've opened an account and will deposit everything into it. I don't plan on taking anything out except for purchasing business only items. No income yet.
I have a small loan to pay off first, and want to save enough in my account to purchase all new equipment if something happens to my stuff so I can be back up and running in no time.
After that, I plan on saving up for a vehicle.
Once I have the vehicle, I will begin drawing a paycheck.

When do I have to pay taxes? Before I draw a paycheck or not until I do?

Thanks all :)

SMRBAP

Supportive Member
Name
Anthony
My understanding:
As a sole prop you are going to have to file quarterly (state and fed), don't and you may pay penalty's at the end of the year.
Regardless of what you take out, profit is profit and taxes will apply to every net dollar after deductions per qtr.
With that said - it's the end of the year, the sum of the entire year that your final taxes will be calculated. If you paid too much you'll get a refund, not enough, you will have a bill.

As a sole prop you aren't really taking a salary separate from company profit and loss as you would in an incorporated situation. So it matters not what you take out, what matters is what you brought in vs. what your expenses were.

HIGHLY recommend finding a GOOD accountant and buying 2-3 hours. A good accountant will charge more than $25/hr, isn't your buddies sister in law, and won't have a table set up past the checkouts in a walmart....lol. I recommend staying away form large national accounting firms that mostly target doing mass individual returns. Have him/her help you choose the entity that suits your immediate to long term plan now.

Whatever you spend with a good accountant will come back to you x5 at minimum in the first year alone.

If you are totally green in the biz: