Pattern Mismatch job

Jack May

That Kiwi
Name
John
Been a while since I posted some repair work photos.

Here's apattern mismatch correct. I was working for the manufactuer.

IMG_5765.jpg

IMG_5769.jpg

IMG_5766.jpg

IMG_5770.jpg

IMG_5768.jpg

IMG_5771.jpg

John

sweendogg

Name
David Sweeney
I'm sorry but how the hell do they screw that up? I mean its not like they are trying to match up this:

43418_%20WovenGrassland

Honestly I don't think the installer even tried.

GREAT JOB of correcting it John! Its ALWAYS harder to correct a mistake than to avoid it in the first place.

Dale

Name
Dale Collins
Hi John:

You did a great job. I am an Inspector, and see this a lot.

Please tell us how you were able to do it? Was this tufted carpet? How popular is that in New Zealand? How much extra stretch in that small room did it take after you made the patteren match?

thx,
Dale

P.S. I with you on the IICRC. The problem with it in Amercia though is peope who spent their money on it, think if it folds they wasted thier money, LOL.

Jack May

That Kiwi
Name
John
Hi Dale,

tufted goods. I'm not experienced enough to tackle that on woven, although if a job came up for one of the mills, I guess I'd do it and learn fast...

I do quite a few of these a year, all for the mills. Most mills don't warrant against pattern match by stretch, yet it's an easy 'out' for the store manager to get a rep in.

I find more often than not, these are on traditional tape so I split the seam, remove the tape, clean the edges and then start again with KG tape.

I use my stretcher to get it close, then I use my mini stretcher to manipulate combined with my knee kicker etc.

I utilise the KoolGlide obviously and also the SDN which is invaluable for this type of work.