Pump issue

ronbeatty

Name
Ron Beatty
I have a 5cp 6120.3 Cat Pump that I am going to have to replace. I am posting pictures to get some idea why this would have happened with less than 2000 hrs on the pump. Lets see who is the smartest. :p
DSC_0389.jpg
DSC_0385.jpg

GeneMiller

Name
gene miller
I'm not very good with pumps but I'll give it a guess. it looks like the water was very hard and the pump wasn't getting enough flow or had an air leak.
what you running threw that thing, acid.
gene

ronbeatty

Name
Ron Beatty
Gene, Just hot water, it has a pulse pump on it. No chemicals go through it. It leaked when it had 200 hrs on it, I should have had it replaced under warranty. The company sent me a new head that helped for a year, but now it needs replaced.

Art Kelley

Supportive Member
Name
Rainbow Carpet And Upholstery Cleaning
Well, there you go: hot water. That will shorten a pump's life.

Jim Martin

Supportive Member
Name
Jim Martin
seal blew and water pitted and corroded the metal.......also looks like it may have been slamming right side looks a bit bent....damper may have went out.......

ronbeatty

Name
Ron Beatty
Joe, The pump gets it supply water from a 240 gallon tank that is heated by the diesel engine. The thermostat controls the heat, it couldn't get any hotter than 180 if you drove around all day and never refilled the tank. The higher temps are attained after the pump.

joe harper

Name
joe harper
ronbeatty said:
Joe, The pump gets it supply water from a 240 gallon tank that is heated by the diesel engine. The thermostat controls the heat, it couldn't get any hotter than 180 if you drove around all day and never refilled the tank. The higher temps are attained after the pump.

Ron...
"Just ...RibbInG you a bit.."... :p :p :lol:

Almost ...ALL HX unit's pump HOT water....They just use a WATER BOX...and they
have a 180 degree sensor... !gotcha! :mrgreen:

Erik

Supportive Member
Name
Erik
ronbeatty said: