Tell Us How You Got In The Business and How Long You’ve Been In It

My story starts when I was very young. I was 7 years old when my Dad made the Astroturf cleaning machine. He started building portables in 1969. I can remember as a kid going to the manufacturing facility, but I did not work there obviously. In 1975 when I turned 15 years old, my Dad bought me a Mazda RX3 station wagon. We installed a fully automatic DC1 portable. The system also had an LP heater that was called Paloma. These heaters were made to heat water in homes in Europe.

The problem was at 15, I only had a learner’s permit. So I hired some of my friends who were older than I was who had a driver’s license. When I was a freshman in high school, all of my friends who I grew up with were seniors. My first cleaning customers were my high school teachers. I ended up cleaning most all of the teacher’s carpets who taught at my high school.

I’m not sure if any of you remember back in 1975 that most all carpet was full of shampoo. There were several systems people would buy to keep in their homes. One of these systems was Blue Luster, and another was Argo Sheen. It was absolutely miserable to extract in those days. The carpets had years and years of shampoo built up in them. You had to use mass quantities of defoamer. This is just a little short story of how I got started. October 19th of this year will be 38 years that I’ve been in the industry. Please tell us your story.

judsonshow022-1.jpg

Thanks,
Les

Reactions: Mikey P

Mikey P

Administrator
it was 1987 when I knocked up my wife for the 1st time. My dishwasher salary would no longer cut the mustard so I replied to an ad in the local newspaper promising $1000 + a week if I had a clean dmv report and my own vehicle.

Five weeks later I was Miller Carpet Care's most experienced technician.

a year later I moved from SoCal to NorCal to work for Coit.

13 years later (2001) I started my own biz.

and in 2006 I started this hell hole.

Last edited: