Urine PreTreat, then what? OSR or Enzyme Treatment??

hanks75

Through my reading on urine decontamination, I consistently found that a urine pretreat flood & extract with water claw should be performed first to remove as much urine as possible. But afterwards, should I use OSR dwell 30 mins then extract, or should I use a product like matrix bottomline (enzymes). If enzymes, do you flood and waterclaw as well. I've never used enzymes before. Thanks ahead of time guys!!

juniorc82

Supportive Member
Name
Jon Coret
It can kinda go both ways. You have to understand what role each component plays then you can figure out how to use them in combination with each other or on their own. Remember urine turns to an alkaline after leaving the body so you will find that most urine pre treatments are an acid to break down the urine. Enzymes play the role of physicly digesting the urine and are typicly gonna be used as an after spray to dwell and continue working. Now the osr is totaly differant and Im not sure of the ph but osr is an oxidizer and breaks down the urine for extraction through oxidization. I have often pre sprayed with an acid extracted with an acid and post sprayed enzymes with good luck. However I think osr followed by an acid rinse followed by an enzyme post spray would do really well. Keep in mind the only way you can gurrantee pet odor removal is by disengaging the carpet removing soiled pad and cleaning and sealing sub floor along with your carpet procedure. But I have found that as far as topicle treatments are concerned there is no silver and you gotta just take it play by play

J Scott W

Name
Jeffrey Scott Warrington
You can download a urine decontamination manual from www.CleanWiki.com This compares enzymes and oxidizers and when it works best for each.

Cleanwiki.com is our free, no selling website. There are also some other articles and technical bulletins dealing with urine stains and odors if you want the short version instead of the entire manual.