vct maintanance

juniorc82

Supportive Member
Name
Jon Coret
I just picked up 3 maybe 4 good size vct accounts.I usualy only do a strip and wax every once and a while as an add on for some of my carpet custys. For whatever reason I had a grocery store huge pre school and a chain of gas stations fall in my lap. I am wondering on the grocery store how often I should expect to add additional coats of finish. I will be cleaning and buffing once a week. I did the original finishing when the store was being built and it has 4 coats of 20% solids , acrylic finish. I figure since I will be buffing with a propane, the finish will wear down more rapidly . I was thinking about adding an additional coat every other month , scrub and re surfacing at 6 months and an annual strip. I am new to vct maintanence and am open to any advice from those with experience doing large vct accounts.

encapman

Name
Rick Gelinas
As an old floor care guy (old in more ways than one), I may be able to share a few thoughts with you.

If the floor is in good shape, you won't need to strip right away, so that's a good thing.

FIRST: Maintain the floor. The floor needs to be dust-mopped or swept daily. Walk off mats need to be at the entrance. And the flor needs to be mopped nightly with a neutral cleaner. We always provided a bottle of free neutral cleaner for our customers.

YOUR MAINTENANCE:
(1) Dust-mop the entire floor. And scrub the floor once a week. You can use an auto-scrubber, a floor machine and wet-vac, or a floor machine and mop.
(1b) A much lamer approach is to just mop the floor. If you only mop the floor, you will still need to scrub the areas that require re-coating.
(2) Re-coat traffic areas as needed. A couple of light coats in the high traffic areas occasionally is all that's needed. You will only need to apply finish in the wear areas so avoid getting the finish anywhere close to the edges of the wall or in the corners - that just creates a build-up.