Water Softener

Vivers

Supportive Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2012
Messages
810
Location
Aliso Viejo
Name
Bill
I have a fairly new set up and I’m considering adding in a water softener however I don’t want the big tank as it takes up too much room in my van. I wondered if there’s any alternatives and what you guys may be using?
like an in-line water softener for the fresh water supply line or similar.
If not would love any tips for the smallest softener tank available and easiest to re-generate.

Would love to keep this thing as clean as possible from hard water buildup and lessen the amount of D scaling I need to do.
Typically truckmount runs max 6hrs a day 5-6 days a week

TIA
 
Last edited:

Mikey P

Administrator
Joined
Oct 6, 2006
Messages
98,852
Location
The High Chapperal
The procam/hydroforce tanks only take up about 8 in of floor space if you don't use their rack it's not the end all of softeners but it's the cheapest and takes up the least room..


Or you can be like zerorez and just fill up your fresh tank and your morning jobs get the benefit of soft water
 
  • Like
Reactions: Vivers

Matt Wood

MLPW
Joined
Feb 4, 2016
Messages
9,856
Location
Georgia
I have a fairly new set up and I’m considering adding in a water softener however I don’t want the big tank as it takes up too much room in my van. I wondered if there’s any alternatives and what you guys may be using?
like an in-line water softener for the fresh water supply line or similar.
If not would love any tips for the smallest softener tank available and easiest to re-generate.

Would love to keep this thing as clean as possible from hard water buildup and lessen the amount of D scaling I need to do.
Typically truckmount runs max 6hrs a day 5-6 days a week

TIA
Putting some washing soda (sodium carbonate) in your fresh water tank should help. I don't know exactly how much to put per 100gallons of water, but it should help you avoid that water softener
does sodium carbonate soften hard water
 
  • Like
Reactions: Vivers

Kenny Hayes

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
4,947
Location
Yukon, Ok.
Name
Kenny Hayes
With a water tank it would. Did you not pay attention in class when Mikey told Slide Guy
how to clean carpet from A to Z including using a acid rinse for his equipment I recall🤷🏼‍♂️ There you have it.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Vivers

Matt Wood

MLPW
Joined
Feb 4, 2016
Messages
9,856
Location
Georgia
With a water tank it would. Did you not pay attention in class when Mikey told Slide Guy
how to clean carpet from A to Z including using a acid rinse for his equipment I recall🤷🏼‍♂️ There you have it.
He's wanting to avoid the need to descale the machine, and running soft water from the 100gallon supply tank is his goal. If you just run an acid rinse from the 5gallon rinse jug, it won't do any prevention to the machine
 

Vivers

Supportive Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2012
Messages
810
Location
Aliso Viejo
Name
Bill
The procam/hydroforce tanks only take up about 8 in of floor space if you don't use their rack it's not the end all of softeners but it's the cheapest and takes up the least room..


Or you can be like zerorez and just fill up your fresh tank and your morning jobs get the benefit of soft water
I do not have a extra water belly tank on the truck we just use water from customers hose bibs
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kenny Hayes

Bob Savage

Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
1,240
Location
Dayton, Ohio
Name
Bob Savage
I use an RV inline water softener in both of my vans. I also use an inline water filter going into each softener. You can easily recharge the softener when it is time. I use test strips to test the softness of the water.

Been working great for 20 years now.
 

Vivers

Supportive Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2012
Messages
810
Location
Aliso Viejo
Name
Bill
I use an RV inline water softener in both of my vans. I also use an inline water filter going into each softener. You can easily recharge the softener when it is time. I use test strips to test the softness of the water.

Been working great for 20 years now.
Thanks so much would you mind telling me or give me the link to the one you use that you’ve been liking for so long
 
  • Like
Reactions: Matt Wood

sassyotto

Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2013
Messages
766
Location
Wisconsin
Name
Paul
doesnt matter if you use it from a tank or from the customers house. You should have a softener between the water and your machine. Acid Rinse going out of the machine wont protect your machine in any way.

If your taking water off a customers house you absolutely need a softener!

Or if you just want to save the money and time, just dont get one and spend more money and time on keeping your machine free of buildup
 

Kenny Hayes

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
4,947
Location
Yukon, Ok.
Name
Kenny Hayes
Me too. Not a bad idea. Looking at them online, they’re inexpensive. Acid rinse in my water tank is easier.
 

DanW

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2010
Messages
4
You could put a Forever Clean on the incoming water line. It won’t take up any space in your van and it needs no maintenance. It’s not a water softener per se, but it changes the molecular structure of the water to protect your truck mount from scaling and also will aid in your cleaning. I‘ve been using one for 20 years.

 
Top Bottom