Why use both

Bucey

Name
FFA?
Why would you use both rinse and emulsifier? I have been using both for the last 8 months, I switch back and forth depending on soiling level. Also I have been evaluating if I will continue to use the rinse. I am about 90% decided on running the emulsifier only. When cleaning uph I will switch to CTI natural fiber cleaner. I was wondering what others do. What are your opinion on this.

Name
Shawn Forsythe
What usually characterizes the difference between a rinse product, and a cleaning emulsifier is the nature of two distinctive elements of these chemicals.

1) The soil attractive nature of the product residue
2) The differing cleaning power, as provided by a cleaning surfactant, versus a rinse surfactant.

Ideally, we'd use a surfactant that was completely non soil attracting, yet having strong oil to water emulsification characteristics. The problem is that this type of surfactant has yet to be invented. So we choose. But there is no clear division line. With the advent of better surfactants, we can often formulate quite powerful cleaning products with a minimum of soil attractive residue, but it can be a little more costly for these chemicals. The market does not chose to have just one answer. So, a variety of manufacturers create sliding scale products that all have their unique properties of cleaning power, cost per square foot, and level of soil attracting residue.

Moreover, those products strictly designed to be very low in soil attractive residue, by using rinse aid surfactants instead of oil-cutting types, often incorporate the characteristics of a low pH soure, so as to leave the carpet fiber and dye system in a favorable ph state, especially if high pH preconditioners are employed.

While it usually isn't necessary to make a choice between high power prespray, followed by an emulsifier versus a prespray followed by a non-attractive rinse, the option to maximize the desired outcome is certainly available.

Dolly Llama