Year old cotton browning

Goomer

Name
Frank Mendo
Customer wants me to attempt to remove some browning on a few snow white cotton cushions that browned out from some hack's cleaning from last year.
It looks like classic browning along the sides due to over wetting.

No cleaning is needed, just need to correct the browning if possible, so I am looking for the least aggressive, "driest" approach.

This is my first attempt at correcting old browning on cotton, so what would be the best approach??

Art Kelley

Supportive Member
Name
Rainbow Carpet And Upholstery Cleaning
Yokum mentioned he makes up a foam with Bane's Haitian Cotton cleaner, sponges it on and vacs it off. Sounds like a good method, though I haven't tried it..

Last edited:

Goomer

Name
Frank Mendo
Yokum mentioned he makes up a foam with Bane's Haitian Cotton cleaner, sponges it on and vacs it off. Sounds like a good method, though I haven't tried it..

I understand that Haitian cotton shampoo being on the acidic side, and it's recommended application procedure (low moisture foam) is the best product and process to avoid an occurrence of browning when cleaning cotton, but am not yet sold on it being the best product to correct an existing condition, more so than a specific browning treatment............which is also slightly acid............which makes me wonder................if it's the acidity of a solution that is the main factoring in correcting browning, and if it is, if there is nothing else present (weak oxidizer, other???) in most "browning treatments" to aid in the correction of browning other than it being an acid, I might as well go with the shampoo.

Dolly Llama

Number 5
Name
Larry Capitoni
not a chem gEEk, Frank, nor a correction expUrt, but i believe it's sodium bisulfite you're looking looking for

I'll defer to the smArt folks though if they suggest other...

..L.T.A.

Jim Pemberton

MB Exclusive.
Name
Jim Pemberton