How to keep your van warm in the winter?

joeynbgky

Supportive Member
Name
Joey
I have a TCS chief unit. I am not able to put it in a garage. So I guess my only option is to run portable heaters to it with extension cords...

I have 2 questions.

Can I leave my pilot light on on my little giant propane heater? with the van closed up to give it just a little bit of heat?

Can I run a propane line from my tank and put in a little buddy heater and run it off my propane tank? are these things safe?

thank you

Jim Martin

Supportive Member
Name
Jim Martin
stick with the electric heaters......even a pilot light with any type of gas will give off bad fumes in a confined area........you also want to make sure you drain the water out your hose and everything .........

joeynbgky

Supportive Member
Name
Joey
Thank you so much. Im new to the cold weather thing. so I will have to drain water from solution hoses and all everyday. thats horrible,

Scott S.

Supportive Member
Name
Scott
anyone ever make an adapter so you can blow air threw your peressure lines to clear the water out for winter weather? im thinking about making one.. i already have a pressure line that has an open end to flood around my water claw.

SRI Cleaning

Name
Anthony Firmani
If you insulate the van and run an elec. heater, then you shouldnt have to drain the water from the lines. Thats what we do with our box truck. Get a heater with a fan to circulate the warm air around. you can insulate yourself with the semirigid sheets from home depot or have it sprayed.

Dolly Llama

Number 5
Name
Larry Capitoni
Bowling Green, Ky, eh?

when it gets "really" cold and windy, 2 elect space heaters won't get it if the van is parked outside in the elements.

You'll need to insulate the van well.
also some kind of blanket-van/RV cover.

be sure to use "at least" 12 gauge wire extension cords.
and no longer in length than you really need

..L.T.A.

everfresh1

Name
Jamie Cohen