Mold stain help!!!

Jim Nazarian

Name
Jim Nazarian
Wool rug with mold was left on wood floor only 5 days, after picking up we noticed this
2503-ac402b5a7a2ca3f14ea4a689b1f9746f.jpg

Sprayed Quat-a-lot, let dwell for 20 minutes then steam cleaned...then sprayed Microban Germicidal Cleaner Concentrate & hoped the "blackened" area would dry out & go away, 5 days later it looked like this still
2502-708e80f48ed27d6c874444769f198c2b.jpg

So tried some solvent cleaner & a high PH cleaner & the "black" won't budge, I sprayed some bleach as a last resort but after 20 minutes didn't look any brighter, what are my options?

Steel wool?
Sand it down?

Doing this as a favor but honestly its my first time so I could use some help.

Attachments

• IMG_0398.jpg
    IMG_0398.jpg
    110.2 KB · Views: 329
  • IMG_0422.jpg
    IMG_0422.jpg
    116.8 KB · Views: 297
  • IMG_0398.jpg
    IMG_0398.jpg
    110.2 KB · Views: 336
Last edited:

J Scott W

Name
Jeffrey Scott Warrington
I would suggest a screening which uses a screen under a 175 RPM floor machine. This is like sand paper, but less aggressive than sanding with drum sander or belt sander.

I am not sure this is a job a beginner should tackle.

Reactions: Jim Nazarian

Ray Burnfield

Supportive Member
Name
Ray Burnfield
I would not put anymore liquids on that floor. Moisture has gotten in between the boards. Is there any cupping or crowning? if not it might dry by itself. It needs to be completely dry before you can fix it.

Jim Nazarian

Name
Jim Nazarian
I would not put anymore liquids on that floor. Moisture has gotten in between the boards. Is there any cupping or crowning? if not it might dry by itself. It needs to be completely dry before you can fix it.

I feared cupping but so far none has occurred.

Going to pick up some wood bleach in the morning & take a belt sander if I can't find screens.

Found some highly rated floor company's on Yelp to call if I feel I am making the situation worse.

Jim Nazarian

Name