Sanding wood floors

Jamesh921

Name
James
I got a call today to sand 2 rooms and a hall. The customer will do all the staining themself so all I have to do is sand it.
I have a 15" orbital sander that I use to sand when I prep large areas of concrete floors but I've never used it to sand wood floors before. Does anybody know what grit paper to use? The best way to sand near the walls? And any idea what to charge for this service?
All together there is about 415 sq. ft. and since I've never done it before, I have no idea how long this will take. Any help will be appreciated.

James

bob vawter

Grassy Knoller
Name
bob vawter
Jamesh921 said:
I got a call today to sand 2 rooms and a hall. The customer will do all the staining themself so all I have to do is sand it.
I have a 15" orbital sander that I use to sand when I prep large areas of concrete floors but I've never used it to sand wood floors before. Does anybody know what grit paper to use? The best way to sand near the walls? And any idea what to charge for this service?
All together there is about 415 sq. ft. and since I've never done it before, I have no idea how long this will take. Any help will be appreciated.

James
15" orbital sander???? :shock:
use a straight line sander......

bob vawter

Grassy Knoller
Name
bob vawter
Jamesh921 said:
Well, I don't own one of those or I would. Any problems using an orbital that I should know about?

Thanks,
James
ya...you'll RUIN the floor!
sanding GOTTA be WITH the grain......

tmdry

Name
Bill Martins
Why not contact a PRO in your area that does this for a living and sub the work to them or have they pay you a commission for the referral?

This way you release yourself from the liability and don't need to learn Sanding 101 in a short period of time.

fresh1

you need to use a floor sanding edger. This machine will kick your ass if never have used one and you will RUIN the floor.