Seal Grout Lines Only or Seal the Entire Floor?

Name
George Valliant
I received a 30 second tutorial from the local vendor on how to seal grout using a grout applicator wand. I’ve been using it successfully for a couple years now.

Recently, I learned that some cleaners seal the entire floor wall-to-wall instead of sealing grout lines only.

What is the proper technique for sealing a floor after it has been cleaned?

Should I use a grout wand to do the lines only? Or, a special applicator to seal the entire floor?

Thanks,

TimP

Entire floor for stone, and small tiles.

I use a pump sprayer and just put a bead down the grout lines. Then wipe up after like 30 min or something like that. You're supposed to keep applying till the grout wont take the sealer anymore.

Mikey P

Administrator
Unless you're using junk $20 a gallon sealer and you want to save time, why would you waste GOOD sealer by spraying it on non absorbent tiles?

Name
Bruce
Mikey P said:
Unless you're using junk $20 a gallon sealer and you want to save time, why would you waste GOOD sealer by spraying it on non absorbent tiles?
Because the time saved was worth more then the amount of extra sealer I had to put down.

Gary T

Because the time saved was worth more then the amount of extra sealer I had to put down.

Unless you have to go back and attempt to clean up a penetrating sealer that didn't penetrate that tile or polished stone and made a mess. It can attract soil, discolor, become sticky, allow footprints, peel, dull the gloss, etc. I guarantee it will be a pain in the a$$ to remove.

safeclean

I agree with Tile Care.

For grout we use the small bottles with the brush attachment on knee rollers than buff the floor.

Tip: When attaching the brush unscrew the bottle first than press hard until it is secure otherwise it will full off during the process also buff each room try not to wait until all the floor is done as you may be there for a while buffing.

Craig

CapeCleaner

TimP said: