VLMrs and Porty guys, I want to see your vans!

Derek

Supportive Member
Name
Derek
yea a 175 would be nice but not a lot of room left on the van and i can only handle 1 machine at a time. i don't do much T&G, though i should offer it a little more. i did 1 last year for a CGD client and used the Trio to scrub and the Orbot/pads to remove the slurry.

i sold the Challenger to a guy in PA over the Winter.

i'll leave the trailblazing to JohnG and the rest of those old timers :razz: i'm still a noob.

TigerJ

Name
Barry
2013, Nissan NV2500, purchased used with about 2k miles on it, $22k

image.jpg
image.jpg

TigerJ

Name
Barry
one of the van requirements was to be able to also fit my golf clubs : )

that was last Saturday, had a job for carpet, tile, and hardwood, and thought I would try to make it to the range afterwards to practice for Sunday's round. that didn't happen, I did have the time, but decided to just wing it Sunday...was prob not the best decision for my game.

Reactions: Desk Jockey
Name
Danny Strickland
OK let's do the math. Consider the BIG TRUCK approach that Mike had in California. A modest price tag for a rig like that would be around $100K (or more).

Now let's amortize $100K for 7 years at today's rate of 5.25%. The monthly payment comes to $1425.

That means that your first $1425 doesn't count. You'd need to generate $1425 before you get to zero. The first $1425 goes down the drain - it doesn't exist. And that doesn't even factor fuel, equipment maintenance, or insurance costs for the big truck.

By comparison a few thousand dollars can put together a nice VLM/Porty setup. Load that into a fuel efficient vehicle and a person can be heading down the road and turning a profit from the word go. From a pure business perspective there's sound wisdom to this model.