Blower belt questions

TimP

Ok...as you guys know I'm new to maintenance and all as in truck mounts. Anyways I own a Hydramaster CDS 4.8. I get slight squeeling from time to time when running. So I think my belt may be slightly loose.... I checked it to day and I can probably push the belt about 3/8th inch in one direction or maybe 3/4" total in both direction.

So the biggest questions are how do you adjust the belt, and do I need to? I had it done once by my supplier but I don't feel like driving my van 360 miles total for that. There is a machine screw that pushes down on the bearing that holds the lower pully that I think moves it down to put tension on the bearing or whatever you want to call it. Anyway it's all the way down. I don't see much other way to adjust the belt. Is there anyone who has one and can tell me if there is a way to put more tension on the belt. Or should is it time to buy a new belt as this one may be streched out. I have almost 950 hours on the belt so maybe it's at it's life expectancy??? It's pretty hot at times especially near the blower so I'm thinking this may be a possibility since the belt feels plastic like or hard.

Anyways I'm looking for someone who can help me out....

Jim Martin

Supportive Member
Name
Jim Martin
If you are sure it is the blower belt then it is probably time to replace it..Normally when I changed mine I would have to loosen the block bearing and the tension on the hex head screw...If you say the supplier has already had to adjust it then it is stretched out to its max if the hex screw is already bottomed out.....

if it is at that point I would go ahead and change the apo and the cat belt while you are at it..if the blower belt is at that point get them all over with and not have to worry about it...more so if you have to drive that far....

blower belt is easy
cat belt is easy
APO (if you have it) will eat your lunch....hard to get to those bolts on the slide..

TimP

No APO here.