Charge for moving heavy furniture?

Paul Demers

Supportive Member
Name
Paul Demers
I am new to the business, and am still working out my price schedule. I am thinking about charging $9.00 each to move heavy furniture such as beds, dressers, chest of draws, empty china cabinets, and so forth. I would vacuum the dust off the back of the moved furniture as part of the service. What do you folks think or charge.

I will not move pianos, grand father clocks, computers, televisions, dressers with attacched mirrors, and the like.

Background: I charge between $50 to $60 per room, 220 sq.ft. limit. As most folks, I move light furniture for no additional charge, such as chairs, sofas, coffee and end tables. I discount about 20 percent for empty rooms. I work alone 4 days a week, and have a helper 2 days a week. I would schedule jobs with heavy furniture moving on days with helper, of course.

I believe in this cleaning for health idea, so I think all bedroom furniture should be moved when cleaning. The thought of cleaning the traffic lanes only and leaving all that dust under the beds and under and behind dressers bothers me. On the other hand, I feel I need to charge for the service, and need to find the right price to charge.

Paul Demers

Supportive Member
Name
Paul Demers
SS says they will move any piece that can be safely moved by two people for no additional charge. I am not sure about Chem Dry.

Brian R

Name
Brian Robison
If you do square footage pricing you should only charge for the areas that you clean.
therefore if you move furniture, the area gets added to the invoice..it's not much but it's better than "free"...and people don't want to be charged extra unless they are cleaning extra...so it works out.

It really helps the other direction as well. If you tell everyone this, then the people where you are going around the furniture will think they are getting a better deal.

Emptys? Not so much.

Then you just give a special price for emptys.