cobb power distrubution box

steve g

Name
steve garrett
I have been using my mytee box for a few years, it only has 2-20 amp breakers that split from 220, most of the time I find the breakers tripped even if I have only been running 15 amps through each, I think the breakers are only good for about 10 amps each. I have been looking at the cobb box, it looks simpler and offers 4 20 amp plugs. it is also priced attractively. other units are a larger yellow box that looks like they need a ton of adapters and cords to make them work, they cost over $400 and that is without all the adapters and cords. is anyone using the cobb power box?? what is the best option for a distribution box.

Jeremy N

Supportive Member
I could be wrong but isn't 50 amps 50 amps even if you split it down?

If you split a 50 amp 220 down don't you still get 50 amps at 110?

Jim Martin

Supportive Member
Name
Jim Martin
IF the breaker on your box is rated for 20 amps then it is a straight 20 amp breaker....you are not going to get just 10 amps off of it with out something melting down......

Second.....are the 20 amp breakers a GFI or are they straight 20 amp........

Third.....are you running an extension cord off the box and then feeding what ever you are running...If this is what you are doing then you may be raising the amps and causing the breaker to trip...the harder the electric has to draw the hotter things get and the higher the amps go and it will trip breaker...what are you running and how far....what type of cord....

If you split a 50 amp 220 down don't you still get 50 amps at 110?

yes..but you have taken the 220 and split each side and broke it down to 2 20 amp 120 breakers..so ..although at the main house panel it is still 50 amps..each individual breaker over rides this.....

Jeremy N

Supportive Member
Jim Martin said: