Connectors

Couple of basic questions , When I have problems attaching different tools to my solution hoses. I just replace the female or male quick connects. I just buy new ones, replace and throw away the old ones. Is this what everybody is doing? Or should I lubricate these with wd 40? Also the on off quick connect at the end of the solution line. Seems like it will start leaking in 3 months. So I just buy new and replace. I have been doing this for years. Is this what everybody does, or is it just me, cause I am not very good with tools. I buy them all the time, just can't use them. Thanks Ron

John Watson

We were doing the same, if not more Ron, till my son got off the truck. Helen and I have replaced 0 males and 2 females in 5 years. We are just more carefull with them. When they are hot, banging them down can put a flat spot on them..

Name
Shawn Forsythe
Ron,

Use an elastomer compatible lubricant, rather than WD-40 on your disconnect o-rings and poppet seals. Not only do o-ring lubricants lubricate without breaking down the elastomer(synthetic rubber, ie. Viton, Buna, etc), but it also lasts much longer by sticking to the o-ring better.

Examples are:
Superlube by Synco
Lube-O-Seal by Huskey
O-ring Lube by Parker

Jim Martin

Supportive Member
Name
Jim Martin
ronald pantelas said:
Couple of basic questions , When I have problems attaching different tools to my solution hoses. I just replace the female or male quick connects. I just buy new ones, replace and throw away the old ones. Is this what everybody is doing? Or should I lubricate these with wd 40? Also the on off quick connect at the end of the solution line. Seems like it will start leaking in 3 months. So I just buy new and replace. I have been doing this for years. Is this what everybody does, or is it just me, cause I am not very good with tools. I buy them all the time, just can't use them. Thanks Ron