Couple of questions for restoring a shower (pics)

Name
I'm Rick James
I got a shower coming up that I am going to clean, color seal and replace the caulking. I have never done the caulking before, is there a secret tip to remove the old caulking?

Should I replace some of the grout before or after I clean it? Also removing the old frame for the sliding doors.

th_ShowerRestore-1.jpg

th_ShowerRestore6.jpg

th_ShowerRestore4before.jpg

th_ShowerRestore8.jpg

GeneMiller

Name
gene miller
replace the grout after you clean it. caulking comes out with a little plastic tool that has a hook, the big box stores carry them. when i remove grout i use a razor but you have to be careful.

gene

Name
I'm Rick James
Sounds good. Was also going to use a caulking finisher for the lines. I will try and take better pics when I go back, I think who ever did it was drunk at the time because they did a very bad job. The tiles dont even line up in some places. Good times.

alazo1

Name
Albert Lazo
I would'nt color seal that shower as it is unsanded grout.

I would probably remove grout / caulking first then light clean. I could never use just one tool for the removal of grout and caulking which is why I have a bunch of little ones. Depending on how soft the grout is a box cutter may do it. I usually use the fein supercut along with the dremel for detailing.

Albert

ACE

Name
Mike Hughes
I would love to see more photos of this project. I cleaned the shower here at home and color sealed with some cheep stuff from Home depot about 4 Mo ago. We have an issue with mold and mildew in the shower because there is no bathroom exhaust fan. The Home depot stuff was a pain to apply, but has been holding up well because it has a built in antimicrobial.

alazo1

Name
Albert Lazo
We have an issue with mold and mildew in the shower because there is no bathroom exhaust fan