Direct drive units and main bearings

walt00

I have a white magic direct drive unit and my main bearings are going out. I am either looking at a new engine or total rebuild. Just wondering if any one else had experienced this problem? The mechanic seemed to think it was because of the added stress to the main shaft because of the extra pulley mounted out front? Mechanic also said if we rebuild the engine they can balance the it with the added equipment on it and give me a 3 month warranty. New engine 3 yr 100,000 mile warranty. Both options are around 4500.00 What to do?

bob vawter

Grassy Knoller
Name
bob vawter
Matt, what year and make truck and how many miles...and hours......I've been running PTO's since 1980 and never had a problem wit main bearings......I HAVE worn out an engine or two in the many vans i've ran!

Usually a weekend and we jus slam another motor in.................

Name
Shawn Forsythe
The only engines to have this as an endemic problem was(is) the Triton series Ford V-8's. The main bearing journals are so narrow, and the side thrust so tuned to just that bearing width, made it virtually impossible for CDS manufacturers to contend with the issue without redesign of the manner in which the additional belt drive accessory could be added without overloading the bearings.

My understanding is that no CDS manufacturers built any units for that application without first dealing with the issue.

John Watson

I have been running shaft drive units for the past 25 years. never lost an engine. Currant unit is a 1988 JEM in its 4th truck which has 140,000 on the odometer, previous truck had 210,000 or better when we removed the unit. These were both 1 ton fords.. I believe your mechanic doesn't know what he is talking about. Why would the manufactures honor any warranty at all if that was the case on the new units??? Go Figure.

But, again not knowing your maintenance and I think your clutch would fail before your main bearings.