Does anyone know how to create a website?

Matthew

I am thinking about buying a software program to actually create a website and maintain it. I am looking at Dreamweaver 8, Dreamweaver MX 2004, FrontPage 2003, FrontPage 2002, Flash 8, Flash MX 2004, Regular HTML, Photoshop CS2, Photoshop CS, and Publisher 2003.

Been surfing the web and came across the above softwares. Any suggestions on which one is the easiest to learn?

BTW - I am a computer novice. All advice is greatly appreciated :? :?

Jack May

That Kiwi
Name
John
Three options depending on your outlook, skills and money.

1. get someone else to build it for you such as Andrechelle as mentioned.
2. buy software to build your own. Cheaper, but a good learning curve and you can do a lot of you own tweaking and updates etc. You mention being a computer novice, I'd suggest this isn't the best for you. I did it and loved the challenge.
3. go with a CMS (Content Management System) type look. Lots of programs available, the main one my IT guy recommends it Joomla. These are internet based software so that you can update your website from ANY internet enabled computer. The above software in option 2 are liscenced and one only one workstation.

So based on your own saying you're a novice, I'd suggest no 1 if you can afford that, or no 3 where you write it up in something like a word editing software and upload it. Cheap, supposed to be easy.

John

Name
Bruce
Don't forget the most important part of your website , web space. You will need to a place to upload your website once you are done building it and know how to redirect your domain name to that webspace so all your current and new customers can browse your website.

Call www.andrechelle.com and chat with them about a website, it will at least give you more options and information.

rhyde

Name
rhyde
Dreamweaver

But it’s not cheap or easy to use for a novice and you’ll want other programs photoshop, fireworks to work make pages

Brian R

Name
Brian Robison