Employee question.

danpauselius

I have about 9 people total working for me now, 4 of which are full time now, the others are per diem. The problem I am having is that one guy is young and rather lazy (can't be left on a job alone because nothing will get accomplished) and the other 2 are hit and miss with showing up at a moments notice for water damage work. I've had to do a couple WDR jobs (including demolition) by myself because of this.

I do pay my guys very well, even for NY. But I am beginning to feel that I may have to clean house to find the type of people that I really need.

I'm rather new to the whole "Boss" thing. What have you guys who have employees done to find the "right" people.

Steve Toburen

Supportive Member
Durango, Colorado/Santiago, Dominican Republic
Name
Steve Toburen
You hit the nail on the head without knowing it in your post, Dan. I believe you used the phrase "hit or miss". :)

Ya gotta remember that everybody puts their best face on when they first meet the boss BEFORE they get the job. Why, I remember that night over ten years ago when Nick Paolella picked me up at O'Hare and took me out to dinner. I actually used my fork and didn't slurp the spaghetti!

I will say that nothing you personally do is more important than finding quality people to share your dream. The others? Cut them loose. The marginal flake zipper-heads of this world (to quote my old buddy Mack Clark) will spoil your good employees AND drag you down. What I call "managerial dilution". (Heck, I might have stolen that from Mack too.)

When you have the right people, business is just so easy AND fun. Bad people? An agony. Life is waaaaay too short to spend it working with losers. Business becomes a joy when you can look forward to each day working toward a common vision with quality individuals. (This is one reason I am still with Jon-Don after more than 10 years.)