Encapsulation on Moiré

Has anyone used an Encapsulation method on Moiré or Crushed Velvet? If so, did it affect the finish?

JamesBaileySmith said:
Has anyone used an Encapsulation method on Moiré or Crushed Velvet? If so, did it affect the finish?

Im new to mikeysboard & new to encapsulation. I'm a big truckmount guy but have been impressed by the encapsulation process using a cimex machine. I have used it only for commercial work. Can or have you used encapsulation for residential ?

Desk Jockey

Name
Rico Suave
Hi Jim!
We usually don't wet the old natural fibers styles that were set with dry steam & pressure.

It seems like the pattern comes out with moisture, even with as little moisture as in OMS will take some of the finish out.

The more modern synthetic stuff that's made to look like the old, hasn't been a problem with cleaning.

I would only do so if OMS wouldn't get the material clean and the customer assumed the risk.

timnelson

Haven't worked with crushed velvet, but any moire that is made with natural fibers is considered suspect. Water will usually remove the finish. Moire with acetate or other thermoplastic fibers is more durable (but still must be tested).

Jim Pemberton

MB Exclusive.
Name
Jim Pemberton
It affects texture and surface designs the same as dry foam shampoo.

I have had some great success with this technique, though:

On heavily soiled, durable natural fibers that didn't clean up acceptably with HWE, I'll apply an encap product, lightly brush it in with a horsehair brush, and allow it to dry.

The next day, give it a good dry brushing and vacuuming, and you'll see significant results.

Obviously, this is an in plant procedure, but its restored stuff that I couldn't use high pH presprays or oxygen boosters on.

harryhides

Name
Tony