Explaining dirt left behind on Commercial Pad Cap

jerry ACC

Name
Jerry Lightcap
I have been serving this particular customer for about 8 months now.
Commercial Bar/Rest carpet 2000 Sqft, monthly clean at .32.
Every 4th visit I HWE followed by cotton bonnet Encap.
In the maintanence months I encap with green stripe bonnets.
The reason I still have the account is I am the only cleaner that can clean and not have the stains wick back.
The other day I cleaned, left my air movers and returned.
The client decided he saw a spot and wiped it up with a white towel, which brought alot of additional dirt.
He asked me why the carpet was still so dirty, I tried to explain to him how encap works and that it will stay in the carpet and keep working. Then be vacuumed up. (I have never been sold on encapping until this account)
I also explained to him that his main objective was to have nice clean looking carpets, which I have done to perfection.
I did feel a little uncomfortable though seeing how dirty the towel was and hope he doesn't think I am full of shit.
I tried to comfort him by telling him that I can HWE every 3 months verses 4.
How would you have handled the situation ?

Art Kelley

Supportive Member
Name
Rainbow Carpet And Upholstery Cleaning
You need to get him off the subject. Learn some jokes. Ask about his children. Develop a bond with him. Whatever you do, don't focus on the dirt still in the carpet.

Brian R

Name
Brian Robison
Generally most commercial clients focus on the appearance more than anything...maybe odor next. So this is a little different.

Did you get off on the wrong foot somehow by bringing up your process and how your were going to clean it each time?

He (and most) would think that he's getting the short end of the stick if you basically said "I'm going to half ass it 3 times and then CLEAN it on the 4th time"

Now, that's not what you did...but it might be what he heard.

Especially if you're spending more time while HWEing.